HomeGAAGAA Results & Reviews - Roscommon and Galway draw

GAA Results & Reviews – Roscommon and Galway draw

Exciting Showdown Ends in a Deadlock: Roscommon 0-9 Galway 0-9

The clash between Roscommon and Galway at Dr. Hyde Park unfolded in a dramatic fashion, ultimately resulting in a hard-fought draw. Despite the windy conditions, both teams displayed commendable resilience, ensuring an intense battle until the final whistle.

First-Half Tussle

Galway, facing the wind, showcased their determination early on, with Robert Finnerty securing the first score of the game. Roscommon responded swiftly, led by the accurate Conor Cox and the industrious Daire Cregg, who helped them gain a narrow lead at halftime.

Galway’s Fightback

The second half saw Galway intensify their efforts, with Roscommon’s Eoin McCormack and Ben O’Carroll facing a relentless onslaught. Despite Galway’s Robert Finnerty and Cillian Ó Curraoin chipping away at Roscommon’s lead, the home side managed to maintain their advantage.

Nail-Biting Finish

As the game reached its climax, both teams sought a decisive breakthrough. However, missed opportunities plagued their efforts, leading to a deadlock at the final whistle. Donie Smith’s red card for Roscommon and Jack McCabe’s black card for Galway added further drama to the closing stages, ensuring a tense finale.

Reflections and Next Steps

Although the draw provided both teams with their first league points of the season, managers Davy Burke and Pádraic Joyce were left with mixed emotions. While they acknowledged the positives from their teams’ performances, they also identified areas for improvement as they prepare for the upcoming fixtures.


The clash between Roscommon and Galway encapsulated the spirit of GAA football, with both sides displaying determination, resilience, and skill. As they reflect on this thrilling encounter, both teams will draw inspiration from their performances as they strive for success in the remainder of the season.

Scorers for Roscommon: Conor Cox 0-5 (4fs), Daire Cregg 0-1, Ruaidhrí Fallon 0-1, Ben O’Carroll 0-1, Diarmuid Murtagh 0-1 (0-1f).

Scorers for Galway: Cillian Ó Curraoin 0-3 (2fs), Robert Finnerty 0-2 (2fs), Matthew Tierney 0-2 (1f), Kieran Molloy 0-1, Paul Conroy 0-1 (f).

Roscommon: Conor Carroll; David Murray, Niall Higgins, Robbie Dolan; Niall Daly, Ruaidhrí Fallon, Eoin McCormack; Enda Smith, Dylan Ruane; Cian Connolly, Donie Smith, Daire Cregg; Diarmuid Murtagh, Ciarán Lennon, Ben O’Carroll.

Subs: Conor Cox for Lennon 9, Brian Stack for Connolly 29, Keith Doyle for Ruane 43, James Fitzpatrick for Cregg 64, Evan Flynn for Dolan 70, Andrew Glennon for Murtagh 70.

Galway: Connor Gleeson; Johnny McGrath, Seán Fitzgerald, Eoghan Kelly; Dylan McHugh, John Daly, Seán Mulkerrin; Paul Conroy, John Maher; Kieran Molloy, Matthew Tierney, Cathal Sweeney; Liam Ó Conghaile, Robert Finnerty, Cillian Ó Curraoin.

Subs: Johnny Heaney for Kelly 38, Céin Darcy for Ó Curraoin 55, Jack McCabe for Finnerty 61, Patrick Egan for Mulkerrin 70.

LiveScores Now Available at IrishScores.com



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments