HomeGAATipperary hammer Westmeath by 20 points

Tipperary hammer Westmeath by 20 points

All-Ireland champions got their first win of the Allianz League after they hammered Westmeath by 20 points in Thurles.  

Jason Forde who top scored with 0-14 in all, got the opening two scores of the game inside 4 minutes. The Silvermines man was looking very sharp. Derek McNicholas knocked over a fine score from the wing in response. Mark Kehoe and Killian Doyle exchanged points, before Tipperary went on a scoring spree from the 11th to the 19th minutes. Tipperary had a goal when Aaron McHugh was forced into a poor mishit clearance by Seamus Callanan, Cian Darcy was on hand to claim possession to finish easily to the net. However, Tipperary picked up three points previous to that goal, Michael Breen then knocked over a point to make it 1-07 to 0-03. Killian Doyle who was a late addition to the Westmeath starting team hit back with a nice point. However, Forde (2) and Alan Flynn (2) put the Premier firmly in control.

Furthermore, Jake Morris grabbed Tipperary’s second goal of the game soon after. Cian Darcy made a lung bursting run looking to get his second goal, however he was hooked by Conor Shaw. Morris was on hand however to flick the ball to the net. Doyle notched his fourth point on the board but Westmeath were behind 2-11 to 0-05 with 29 minutes played. Jason Forde knocked over a sublime sideline just before the break leaving it 2-14 to 0-07 and the game over as a contest at half time.

Forde continued the scoring on the resumption with a free. Killian Doyle knocked over a free on 39 minutes. But moments later was sent off on a straight red card for a collision with Seanie O’Brien.  Ronan Maher made it 2-18 to 0-10. Jake Morris flashed over a quick fire double on 48 and 52 minutes. Liam Sheedy emptied his bench opting to bring on Noel McGrath, Paul Flynn and Paddy Caddell. Finally, Westmeath hit late scores from McNicholas and Devine but Westmeath are now staring down the barrel of relegation. Tipperary look forward to a clash with Waterford.

Tipperary: Brian Hogan; Cathal Barrett, Barry Heffernan, Seán O’Brien; Séamus Kennedy, Ronan Maher (0-03), Bryan O’Mara; Alan Flynn (0-02), Michael Breen (0-02);  Jason Forde (0-14, 0-09f, 0-01 sl), Séamus Callanan (1-01), Niall O’Meara; Cian Darcy (1-01), Jake Morris (1-03), Mark Kehoe (0-01).

Subs used: Craig Morgan for Barrett (44), Noel McGrath for Kehoe (48), Dillon Quirke for O’Brien (48), Paul Flynn for O’Meara (56), Paddy Cadell for Kennedy (66).

Westmeath: Aaron McHugh; Adam Ennis, Tommy Doyle, Conor Shaw; Aaron Craig, Aonghus Clarke (0-01), Liam Varley; Robbie Greville, Cormac Boyle; Joey Boyle, Derek McNicholas (0-02), Josh Coll; Killian Doyle (0-07, 0-06f, 0-01 65), Allan Devine (0-05, 0-05f), Niall Mitchell.

Subs used: Ciarán Doyle (0-01) for Coll (23), Brian McHugh for Aaron McHugh (35), Darragh Clinton for J Boyle (48), Darragh Egerton for Ennis (58), John McCarthy for Mitchell (62)

LiveScores Now Available at IrishScores.com



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments