HomeRugbyAll Blacks team named for opening Test against Australia

All Blacks team named for opening Test against Australia

The All Blacks team has been named to play Australia in the opening Bledisloe Cup Test presented by Steinlager at Eden Park on Saturday 7 August, kick-off 19:05

The All Blacks and Australia will be playing their 171st Test against each other with Aaron Smith knowing the Wallabies well; he has played them 25 times. New Zealand has won 117 of those matches, Australia 45 with eight draws.

The last Test between the two sides was a narrow 24-22 win to Australia at Suncorp Stadium, last year.

The world ranked number two’s Head Coach Ian Foster said:

“There is huge excitement in our group at what lies ahead this weekend. There is such a huge history with the Bledisloe Cup, the rivalry between the All Blacks and Australia goes back a long, long way, and it’s always a massive contest.

“The Cup isn’t ours; we have to go out and win it again. We can’t wait for the weekend.”

The starting front row is unchanged from the last Test outing against Fiji, with loosehead prop George Bower, hooker Codie Taylor and tighthead Nepo Laulala running out.

Brodie Retallick is back at starting lock alongside captain Samuel Whitelock, with Scott Barrett on the bench.

To round out the forward line, in the loose forwards, Ardie Savea is at eight, with Dalton Papalii at seven and Akira Ioane in the six jersey.

In the backs, Richie Mo’unga is again at ten, outside Aaron Smith. David Havili and centre Anton Lienert-Brown are the midfield combination for this game.

Rieko Ioane moves to the left wing, Sevu Reece is on the right and Damian McKenzie is at fullback.

Props Joe Moody and Ofa Tuungafasi weren’t considered for selection as they return from injuries, while the selectors have also taken a considered approach with outside back Will Jordan’s return from a slight hamstring strain.

It will be a special night for halfback Aaron Smith, who will play his 100th Test, after making his Test debut against Ireland back in 2012.

On Aaron Smith’s special milestone, Foster said:

“He’s a special man, he’s achieved so much in the black jersey and has been an iconic player for us over the last decade. We know it’ll be a special night for him, his wife Teagan and his family.”

The All Blacks have held the Bledisloe Cup since 2003 and will look to hold onto it for another year.

The matchday 23 is (Test caps in brackets).

1. George Bower (3)
2. Codie Taylor (58)
3. Nepo Laulala (31)
4. Brodie Retallick (83)
5. Samuel Whitelock (125) – captain
6. Akira Ioane (4)
7. Dalton Papalii (5)
8. Ardie Savea (50)
9. Aaron Smith (99)
10. Richie Mo’unga (24)
11. Rieko Ioane (37)
12. David Havili (5)
13. Anton Lienert-Brown (50)
14. Sevu Reece (10)
15. Damian McKenzie (30)
16. Dane Coles (76)
17. Karl Tu’inukuafe (18)
18. Angus Ta’avao (16)
19. Scott Barrett (42)
20. Luke Jacobson (5)
21. Brad Weber (9)
22. Beauden Barrett (91)
23. Jordie Barrett (25)


LiveScores Now Available at IrishScores.com



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments