HomeRugbyIreland name U20 side to play Wales

Ireland name U20 side to play Wales

Ireland head coach Noel McNamara has named his U20 side to play Wales in the Six Nations Clash at Irish Independent Park on Friday. The side shows two changes from the team that beat Scotland last weekend 38-26.

In the forwards, Marcus Hannan is named at tighthead, while he will alongside Tom Stewart and Tom Clarkson in the front row. The second row will see Thomas Ahern partner Brian Deeny. The back row impressed against Scotland and remains unchanged here for this meeting. Therefore, Sean O’Brien, Mark Hernan and captain David McCann.

In the backs their is a debut for Ben Moxham on the wing, while Oran McNulty continues at full back. Hayden Hyde and Daniel Kelly continue the midfield partnership. Andrew Smith starts on the other wing. Jack Crowley is named at out half once more after his impressive showing against Scotland. His terrific try which can be seen below from that game. Lewis Finlay starts alongside him.

On the bench there is plenty of cover. John McKee, Harry Noonan and Charlie Ward cover the front row, while  Joe Ward and Cian Prendergast are also named as substitutes. Ben Murphy, Tim Corkery and Luis Faira cover the backs in terms of replacements. Speaking ahead of the game U20 boss Noel McNamara said, “We got things started on a positive note on Friday night in Cork and now that we are up and running in the championship”. He continued, “This Friday night presents a new challenge against Wales. “The players have worked hard during the week with the emphasis very much on ourselves and building towards this week’s game”.

The games takes place on Friday night. It is live on RTE from 7pm.

Ireland Under-20 side to play Wales : Oran McNulty, Ben Moxham, Dan Kelly, Hayden Hyde, Andrew Smith, Jack Crowley, Lewis Finlay; Marcus Hannan, Tom Stewart, Thomas Clarkson, Thomas Ahern, Brian Deeny,  Sean O’Brien, Mark Hernan, David McCann (captain).

Replacements: John McKee, Harry Noonan, Charlie Ward, Joe McCarthy, Cian Prendergast, Ben Murphy,  Tim Corkery, Luis Faria.

LiveScores Now Available at IrishScores.com



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments