HomeRugbyRugby IrishCharlie Tector and Matthew Devine named in the half-backs for Ireland

Charlie Tector and Matthew Devine named in the half-backs for Ireland

Charlie Tector and Connacht scrum-half Matthew Devine are named in the half-backs for Ireland’s against Wales in U20 Six Nations.

Head Coach¬†Richie Murphy¬†has named the Ireland Match Day squad, sponsored by¬†PwC, for Friday’s opening game of the¬†U20 Six Nations¬†against Wales at Musgrave Park (Kick-off 8pm, live on¬†RT√Č).
Reuben Crothers will captain the team as the Ireland U20s return to their home at Musgrave Park for a Championship game for the first time since March 2020.
Crothers is one of four players named in Murphy’s starting XV who featured in last year’s Six Nations. Second row¬†Mark Morrissey¬†has been ever-present for Ireland in the engine room during the lead-in to the Six Nations, while prop¬†Jack Boyle¬†and winger¬†Chay Mullins¬†also add previous U20s experience to Friday’s team.
Patrick Campbell, who made his Munster senior debut against Wasps before Christmas, starts at full-back, with Mullins and Shane Mallon on the wings. Leinster duo Fionn Gibbons and Ben Brownlee are paired in midfield, with Charlie Tector and Connacht scrum-half Matthew Devine named in the half-backs.
Boyle starts in the front row alongside Ulster duo¬†James McCormick¬†and¬†Scott Wilson, while Morrissey is joined in the second row by UCD team-mate¬†Conor O‚ÄôTighearnaigh. Crothers leads from the back row, with¬†James McNabney¬†of Ulster selected at openside and Leinster’s¬†James Culhane¬†at number eight.
Murphy will be hoping his bench can make a big impact, with¬†Josh Hanlon,¬†Oisin Michel,¬†Rory McGuire,¬†Adam McNamee¬†and¬†Ronan O’Sullivan¬†providing the options up front.¬†Ethan Coughlan,¬†Tony Butler¬†and¬†Aitzol King¬†complete the match day 23.
Commenting ahead of the game, the Ireland Head Coach said: “We have been building towards Friday for a number of weeks now and the group have put in a huge amount of work in preparation for the Six Nations.

“We’re excited about the challenges ahead, starting with the visit of Wales to Musgrave Park under Friday Night Lights.¬†The prospect of returning to Cork and playing in front of a big crowd, including family and friends, is a really exciting one for the players and the management team.”

Friday’s game is live on¬†RT√Ȭ†and tickets can be purchased via Ticketmaster.ie.
Ireland U20s (v Wales):

15. Patrick Campbell (Young Munster RFC/Munster)
14. Chay Mullins (Bristol Bears/IQ Rugby)
13. Fionn Gibbons (UCD RFC/Leinster)
12. Ben Brownlee (Blackrock College/Leinster)
11. Shane Mallon (UCD RFC/Leinster)
10. Charlie Tector (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)
9. Matthew Devine (Corinthians RFC/Connacht)

1. Jack Boyle (UCD/Leinster)
2. James McCormick (Ballymena RFC/Ulster)
3. Scott Wilson (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster)
4. Conor O’Tighearnaigh (UCD RFC/Leinster)
5. Mark Morrissey (UCD RFC/Leinster)
6. James McNabney (Ballymena RFC/Ulster)
7. Reuben Crothers (Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)(Captain).
8. James Culhane (UCD RFC/Leinster).


16. Josh Hanlon (Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)
17. Oisin Michel (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)
18. Rory McGuire (UCD/Leinster)
19. Adam McNamee (Malone RFC/Ulster)
20. Ronan O’Sullivan (Highfield RFC/Munster)
21. Ethan Coughlan (Shannon RFC/Munster)
22. Tony Butler (Garryowen FC/Munster)
23. Aitzol King (Clontarf FC/Leinster).

LiveScores Now Available at IrishScores.com



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments