HomeRugbyRugby IrishRugby World Cup 2019

Rugby World Cup 2019

Rugby World Cup 2019

Rugby is one of the leading sports globally. Many nations host several rugby tournaments each year. The Rugby World Cup attracts thousands of fans from different countries. Japan will host this year’s Rugby World Cup from September 20 to November 2. Rugby fans can wager on any team in Betway. Here is an insight into the Rugby World Cup 2019.

The Rugby World Cup Bid

The World Rugby asked Rugby Union members who would like to host the Rugby World Cup 2019 to express their interest by August 15, 2018. It didn’t need them to provide details by then. Ten national rugby unions informed the international body that they would like to host the tournament. Nine countries expressed their desire to host the 2019 Rugby World Cup.

Russia was interested in hosting the 2019 and 2015 Rugby World Cups. But, it withdrew its interest to host both tournaments in February 2009. Russia placed and won the bid to host the 2013 Rugby World Cup Sevens.

Italy, South Africa, and Japan sent their bids for this year’s World Cup. The World Rugby announced them as potential hosts of the tournament on May 8, 2009. It confirmed in a special meeting in Dublin that it would hold the 2015 Rugby World Cup in England and the 2019 Rugby World Cup in Japan. The Rugby World Cup Ltd (RWCL) recommended World Rugby to announce Japan and England as the hosts of this year’s tournament. Punters can visit https://betway88.com/ to place rugby bets.

The Qualification Criteria

The first three teams from each pool of the 2015 Rugby World Cup qualified for this year’s edition. Although Japan was the third team in the last World Cup they got automatic qualification since they will host the 2019 Rugby World Cup. Several cross-regional playoffs and the Rugby Europe International Championships helped World Rugby pick the other eight teams.

The following teams will compete in this years’ Rugby World Cup:

  • South Africa
  • Namibia
  • United States
  • Canada
  • Japan
  • England
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Russia
  • Scotland
  • Wales
  • Australia
  • Fiji
  • New Zealand
  • Samoa
  • Tonga
  • Argentina
  • Uruguay

Each team has competed in previous World Cups. Romania failed to qualify for the 2019 Rugby World Cup. It has competed in all other international tournaments. World Rugby disqualified it for adding ineligible players.

The Opening Match

This year’s Rugby World Cup is the ninth edition of the international rugby tournament. Japan will be the first Asian country to host it. Singapore and Hong Kong requested the World Rugby to allow them to host certain matches. The tournament’s organizers didn’t grant them their wish. The first game for Rugby World Cup 2019 will be played at Ajinomoto Stadium in Chofu while the final game will be played at Nissan Stadium, in Yokohama.

The Rugby World Cup is a popular rugby tournament which occurs after every four-years. It features international teams from all over the world. The winners receive the Webb Ellis Cup. Australia, England, South Africa, and New Zealand are the only countries which have ever won the trophy. Sign up with Betway to predict which team will win the Rugby World Cup 2019.

LiveScores Now Available at IrishScores.com



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments