HomeSoccerSoccer IrishIreland Squad Announced for Slovakia Play-Off Game

Ireland Squad Announced for Slovakia Play-Off Game

Jack Byrne included in Kenny’s Squad

Jack Byrne gets his first Ireland call-up under Stephen Kenny on the back of recent impressive form, particularly against Dundalk and AC Milan. Following a man of the match performance against Dundalk on Sunday, Byrne remained coy on his chances of a call-up. However according to Stephen Kenny, Jack Byrne has been included ‘on merit’ for his recent stand-out performances. Blackburn centre-half Derrick Williams also makes the cut for the first time under the new manager.

Injury Update

The squad list includes midfielders Robbie Brady and Callum O’Dowda despite recent injury concerns surrounding the pair. Kenny admitted that he is uncertain whether they will both be fit to play in Bratislava. Brady came off before half-time for Burnley against Leicester City with a rib injury and has not featured since. Troy Parrott remains on the injury list keeping him out the 25-man squad.

Coleman or Doherty?

Stephen Kenny was quizzed on whether Seamus Coleman’s bright start to the new season enhances his chances of replacing Matt Doherty in the starting eleven. “This is a good problem to have” was Kenny’s response, keeping his cards close to his chest.

The full interview with Stephen Kenny is below.

After an underwhelming start to his tenure, the new Ireland manager will be hoping for an improved level of performance from his players when they take on Slovakia next month. Many of the squad have started the season well and will aim to carry this form into the crucial play-off game.

Ireland take on Slovakia on October 8th at 7.45pm at the Tehelné Pole Stadium in Bratislava.

Ireland manager Stephen Kenny has named a 25-man squad for the Euro 2020 Play-Off semi-final against Slovakia in Bratislava and the UEFA Nations League games against Wales in Dublin and Finland in Helsinki.

Shamrock Rovers midfielder Jack Byrne and Blackburn Rovers defender Derrick Williams feature for the first time in an Ireland squad under Stephen.

The squad will assemble in Dublin on Sunday and train at the FAI’s National Training Centre in Abbotstown before flying to Slovakia on Tuesday.

Darren Randolph (West Ham United), Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Mark Travers (Bournemouth).

Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Tottenham Hotspur), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Darragh Lenihan (Blackburn Rovers), Shane Duffy (Celtic, on loan from Brighton & Hove Albion), John Egan (Sheffield United), Derrick Williams (Blackburn Rovers).

Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), James McCarthy (Crystal Palace), Harry Arter (Nottingham Forest), Jeff Hendrick (Newcastle United), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Jayson Molumby (Brighton & Hove Albion), Jack Byrne (Shamrock Rovers), Robbie Brady (Burnley).

Callum Robinson (West Bromwich Albion), Callum O’Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (Stoke City), Aaron Connolly (Brighton & Hove Albion), David McGoldrick (Sheffield United), Adam Idah (Norwich City), Shane Long (Southampton).

LiveScores Now Available at



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments