HomeGAAGAA League 2023 Roscommon get result against Galway in Pearse Stadium

GAA League 2023 Roscommon get result against Galway in Pearse Stadium

The full complement of spoils were secured by Roscommon before they left Salthill thanks to a point from substitute Richard Hughes in the fifth minute of stoppage time.

Galway 0-08 Roscommon 0-09 Result

Following a strong start to the campaign under new manager Davy Burke, Roscommon, who were furiously cheered by the traveling supporters and management, will be happy.

Ian Burke, a substitute for Galway, scored a point in the 51st minute to cut the deficit to four, but Roscommon went on a five-point run to win.

Scores and chances were few in the west throughout the first period due to defensive play. Galway converted 0-5 of their nine efforts, demonstrating how close the game was before the half, while Roscommon only succeeded 0-3 of their attempts.

Another unfortunate feature was the fact that Damien Comer had to be stretchered off with a leg injury right away.

Scorers for Roscommon: Diarmuid Murtagh 0-3 (1f), Ben O’Carroll 0-2, Ciarán Lennon, Richard Hughes, and Daire Cregg 0-1 each.

Scorers for Galway: Dessie Conneely 0-3 (3fs), Cillian McDaid, Matthew Tierney, Dylan McHugh, Ian Burke, and Johnny Heaney 0-1 each.

Roscommon: Conor Carroll; Conor Hussey, Conor Daly, Eoin McCormack; Niall Daly, Brian Stack, Dylan Ruane; Tadhg O’Rourke, Keith Doyle; Enda Smith, Diarmuid Murtagh, Ciarán Lennon; Daire Cregg, Conor Cox, Robbie Dolan.

Subs: Ciaráin Murtagh for Cox (HT), Ben O’Carroll for Ruane (47), David Murray for McCormack (47), Richard Hughes for Doyle (51), Colin Walsh for Murray (65-68, blood), Paul Carey for D Murtagh (70+2).

Galway: Connor Gleeson; Jack Glynn, Eoghan Kelly, Neil Mulcahy; Dylan McHugh, John Daly, Seán Kelly; Paul Conroy, Cillian McDaid; Paul Kelly, Matthew Tierney, Peter Cooke; Johnny Heaney, Damien Comer, Eoin Finnerty.

Subs: Dessie Conneely for Comer (10), Ian Burke for P Kelly (HT), Owen Gallagher for Finnerty (51), Cathal Sweeney for Cooke (55), Matthew Barrett for Heaney (64).

Referee: Martin McNally (Monaghan).

LiveScores Now Available at IrishScores.com



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments