HomeGAAMoycullen Defeat Mountbellew/Moylough to win Galway SFC

Moycullen Defeat Mountbellew/Moylough to win Galway SFC

Dessie Conneely was the name on everyone’s tongue in Pearse Stadium on Sunday. His tally of 1-9 was major in seeing Moycullen defeat Mountbellew/Moylough to win their maiden Galway Senior Football Championship.

Moycullen had the advantage of the strong elements in the opening half. With this in mind, Mountbellew/Moylough had reason to be more content at half-time.

After just 30 seconds, Moycullen were off the mark thanks to Conneely. But Barry McHugh soon levelled it at the other end. The teams had contrasting approaches. Moycullen chose to attack with pace. In contrast, Mountbellew/Moylough had to be patient in their decision making which proved fruitful.

A brace of points from Conneely preceeded Mountbellew/Moylough hitting four-in-a-row to go 0-5 to 0-3 ahead. After trading points, Moycullen needed a couple of scores to restore parity. Firstly, Conneely kicked his sixth of the half. Secondy, Antrim native Owen Gallagher tied it up at 0-7 each at the half-way stage.

Following the restart, Mountbellew/Moylough immediately signalled their intention to play with more pace. McHugh fisted a point straight after the throw-in to restore their lead. However, Conneely had an answer for everything. In the 33rd minute, the young Moycullen captain’s shot bulged in the roof of the net.

He followed that up with another score to leave his side three in front. Yet, a brilliant break by Gary Sweeney done the other end resulted in a penalty for Mountbellew/Moylough. Eoin Finnerty duly converted to tie the game.

Following that, the sides swapped points again before Moycullen’s second major of the game. Conor Bohan found the net with the help of the post to leave his west Galway side three up again.

Mountbellew/Moylough brought the gap back to two. But Conneely cancelled those scores out with a couple of late frees.

Full Time: Moycullen 2-12 vs 1-11 Mountbellew/Moylough.

Moycullen: Seamus Friel; Sean Kelly, David Wynne, Neil Mulcahy; Gareth Bradshaw (0-01), Aidan Claffey, Greg Bohan; Thomas Clarke, Mark Lydon; Paul Kelly, Conor Bohan (1-00), James McLoughlin; Owen Gallagher (0-02), Neil Walsh, Dessie Conneely (c) (1-09, 0-05f, 0-01’45).

Subs: Eoghan Kelly for G Bohan (43 mins), Daniel Cox for Walsh (47 mins).

Mountbellew/Moylough: Damien Boyle; Gary Sweeney, James Foley, Mark Mannion; Shane Moran, Colin Murray, Colin Ryan (0-01); Michael Daly (0-01), Matthew Barrett; Paul Donnellan (0-01), Gerard Doneoghue, Leo Donnellan; Eoin Finnerty (jc) (1-02, 1-00pen, 0-01m), Patrick Kelly, Barry McHugh (0-06, 0-04f).

Subs: Seán Miland for L Donnellan (47 mins), Billy Mannion for Donoghue (60).


LiveScores Now Available at IrishScores.com



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments