HomeGAADublin Football Final: Ballymun Kickhams vs Ballyboden Preview

Dublin Football Final: Ballymun Kickhams vs Ballyboden Preview

Ballymun Kickhams return to the Dublin Football Final for the first time since 2017. After two tough knockout games against Na Fianna and Kilmacud Crokes, they earned their place in the finale. Likewise, Ballyboden St. Enda’s had to work to return to the final. Firstly, they needed extra time to beat a brave Raheny. Next, there was just a goal between them and St. Jude’s.

Teams Boosted by Absence of Inter-County.

Both teams are unbeaten in the Championship so far this year. Thus, the final is guaranteed to be closely contested. The lack of an inter-county Championship this summer has meant that all the clubs have had a full contingent in this year’s Championship. As a result, a victory this year will be extra sweet for the team who comes out on top.

Ballymun Kickhams particularly profit from having their county players. Their ranks contain a host of Dublin regulars. Namely, Evan Comerford, Philly McMahon, John and Paddy Small, James McCarthy, and Dean Rock. Having players of this calibre will add invaluable inexperience when the final reaches boiling point.

On the other hand, Ballyboden St. Enda’s can call upon the 2013 Player of the Year Michael Darragh McCauley. McCauley is the engine of the south Dublin side. Furthermore, the team is complemented by the likes of Robbie McDaid, Ryan Basquel, and Conal Keaney. For instance, this Ballyboden side went all the way to All-Ireland glory in 2016.

In fact, Ballyboden St. Enda’s have won the last three Dublin SFC finals they appeared in (’09, ’15, ’19). In contrast, Ballymun Kickhams have lost on their last two outings in the final. After, winning in 2012, they lost a replay in 2013 by a point against St. Vincent’s. Next, the same opposition beat them by a score in 2017.

With this in mind, Ballymun Kickhams will be determined to leave nothing on the field next Sunday. Ballyboden St. Enda’s know how to win a final though. Therefore Ballymun will be thankful to be able to call on their county players when it matters. However, Ballymun’s David Byrne and Leon Young are suspended for the final after seeing late red cards against Kilmacud Crokes.

Paths to the Final


Ballymun Kickhams 1-18 vs 2-12 Kilmacud Crokes.

Ballyboden St. Enda’s 2-11 vs 1-11 St. Jude’s.


Ballymun Kickhams 1-18 vs 2-13 Na Fianna.

Ballyboden St. Enda’s 2-16 vs 0-16 Raheny (AET).

Group Stages

Ballyboden St. Enda’s 4-20 vs 2-08 Clontarf

Ballyboden St. Enda’s 5-11 vs 1-17 St. Vincent’s

Ballyboden St. Enda’s 4-22 vs 1-10 Whitehall Colmcille

Ballymun Kickhams 3-18 vs 0-12 Skerries Harps

Ballymun Kickhams 3-26 vs 1-10 Round Towers Lusk

Ballymun Kickhams 3-15 vs 0-08 Thomas Davis

Dublin SFC Final: Ballymun Kickhams vs Ballyboden St. Enda’s, Sunday 27th September 16:30 (Parnell Park).


LiveScores Now Available at IrishScores.com



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments